ADSC has established a special lecture and award in the name of Dr. Michael W. O’Neill, one of the geo-industry’s most prominent and prolific researchers, academics, and consultants. Dr. O’Neill passed away suddenly in August 2003. O’Neill had been the lead researcher for a multitude of projects focusing on the design, construction, and testing of deep foundations, primarily drilled shafts. The ADSC was privileged to work with him on projects that profoundly affected the advancement of the drilled foundation industry. Dr. O’Neill was the co-author, along with Dr. Lymon Reese, of two editions of the FHWA’s Design Procedures and Construction Methods manual, which became the number one resource for drilled shaft foundation design, construction, testing, and inspection, in the U.S. transportation industry. During his career he was the recipient of almost every major honor that could be bestowed by the American Society of Civil Engineers, as well those of other leading professional organizations.

The O’Neill Lecture will be presented at IFCEE (International Foundations Congress and Equipment Exposition), the 2021 iteration of which will be jointly sponsored by ADSC, the Deep Foundations Institute, the Geo-Institute of ASCE, and the Pile Driving Contractors Association. It will be held in Dallas, Texas, May 10-14, 2021, and will be attended by nearly 3,500 professionals from around the world.

ADSC is proud to honor Dr. Mullins with the 2021 Michael W. O’Neill Award for his significant contributions and dedication to the deep foundations industry, and specifically drilled shaft technology.

Gray Mullins, Ph.D., P.E., F ASCE is a professor and researcher at the University of South Florida in Tampa, Florida where he also received his B.S., M.S., and doctorate degrees in civil engineering. He serves as the Technical Director for Foundations & Geotechnical Engineering, LLC. in Plant City, Florida maintaining an active role in on-going design and construction projects. Gray has made substantial contributions to foundation design, construction, and quality assurance in the areas of rapid load testing, underwater repair of corrosion damaged piles, optimizing seal slab designs, dynamic replacement of soft soils, soil mixing of organic soils, post grouted drilled shafts (design, QA/QC, and resistance factors), rapid mixing of drill slurry, effects of slurry on drilled shaft performance, post-tensioned splice of prestressed piles, and integrity testing of drilled shafts using thermal methods.

Dr. Mullins has authored over 100 peer-reviewed articles, 50 research reports, and has 10 patents reflecting innovations in foundation related topics. His achievements have been recognized by receipt of the C. William Bermingham Award from the Deep Foundations Institute (DFI), the Ben C. Gerwick Award also from DFI, the Nova Award from the Construction Innovation Forum, and the Charles Pankow Award from the American Society of Civil Engineers.



The annual Osterberg Memorial Lecture and Award was established in honor of Dr. Jorj O. Osterberg, one of the true pioneers of geotechnical engineering, to recognize innovations in deep foundations construction related to engineering design, testing, or education – all aspects of Jorj Osterberg’s lifelong contributions.

Erik Loehr is the Logan Professor in the College of Engineering at the University of Missouri and a Senior Principal Engineer with Dan Brown and Associates. He has over twenty-five years of experience conducting geotechnical engineering research, most recently including work to evaluate the benefits of post-grouting for drilled shafts with funding from the Federal Highway Administration and the California Department of Transportation.He has authored or co-authored numerous publications, including the most recent updates to FHWA’s Geotechnical Engineering Circulars 5 and 10, and has contributed to development of practical reliability-based design provisions for several state departments of transportation and AASHTO.  He is active in professional organizations including the Deep Foundations Institute, the International Association of Foundation Drilling (ADSC), the ASCE Geo-Institute, and the Transportation Research Board.